ISGAP needs your support! Help us fight antisemitism on the battlefield of ideas. All ISGAP international programs, research projects, and publications, are dependent on your support.
Mission Statement

Antisemitismus ist einer der unübersichtlichsten, und manchmal verwirrenden Formen von Hass. Antisemitismus zieht sich durch die Geschichte, und infiziert verschiedene Gesellschaften, religiöse, philosophische und politische Bewegungen, sowie Zivilisationen. Manche haben vor dem Hintergrund des Holocausts argumentiert, dass Antisemitismus die Grenzen der Aufklärung und der Moderne an sich darstellt. Manifestationen von Antisemitismus tauchen in zahlreichen ideologischen Narrativen und konstruierten Identitäten von Zusammengehörigkeit und Fremdheit auf, wie „Rasse“, Ethnizität, Nationalismus und Anti-Nationalismus.
Im gegenwärtigen Kontext der globalisierten Beziehungen, es scheint dass Antisemitismus hat eine neue, komplexe, und sich verändernde Form angenommen, die entschlüsselt, abgebildet, und exponiert werden müssen.

Das akademische Studium von Antisemitismus, wie Vorurteile im Allgemeinen, entspringt einer langen und eindrucksvollen intellektuellen Forschungsgeschichte. Es bleibt ein Thema von politischer Bedeutung und wissenschaftlichem Engagement. Dennoch, anders als Vorurteile oder Diskriminierungen gegen andere soziale Gruppen, Antisemitismus wird fast immer außerhalb akademischer Institutionen erforscht. ISGAP, gegründet in 2004, ist das erste interdisziplinäre Forschungszentrum in Nordamerika, dass sich dem Studium des Antisemitismus widmet.

Die Mission des Instituts ist, die Thematik innerhalb eines umfassenden, interdisziplinären Bezugsrahmens mit Hilfe verschiedener Herangehensweisen, Perspektiven, sowie innerhalb globaler, nationaler und regionaler Kontexte zu erforschen. Diese Mission beinhaltet das Studium von Themen wie die sich verändernden historischen Phasen von Antisemitismus, wie sich Antisemitismus zu anderen Formen des Hasses verhält, oder in wieweit Antisemitismus einzigartig ist, warum manche Gesellschaften sich Antisemitismus widersetzen können und welche Strategien entwickelt und angewendet werden könnten um es zu bekämpfen.

Bedeutende Wissenschaftler und Forscher werden regelmäßig eingeladen, um Vorträge zu halten und sich auf konzeptueller und empirischer Ebene in Forschungsprojekte zu engagieren. Die Entwicklung eines interdisziplinären Lehrplans, und die Veröffentlichung analytischer Studien zu fördern, welche diese weitverbreiteten und wiederkehrenden Vorurteile erforschen, ist ein zentrales Ziel. ISGAP strebt an einen lebhaften Raum zu erschaffen in welchem Forschung von großem Format, Diskussionen und Debatten entstehen und genährt werden können.

ISGAP needs your support! Help us fight antisemitism on the battlefield of ideas. All ISGAP international programs, research projects, and publications, are dependent on your support.
Mission Statement

Antisemitism is one of the most complex and, at times, perplexing forms of hatred. It spans centuries of history, infecting different societies, religious, philosophical and political movements, and even civilizations. In the aftermath of the Holocaust some have even argued that antisemitism illustrates the limitations of the Enlightenment and modernity itself.  Manifestations of antisemitism emerge in numerous ideologically based narratives and the constructed identities of belonging and otherness such as race and ethnicity, nationalist, and anti-nationalist movements.  In the contemporary context of globalized relations it appears that antisemitism has taken on new complex and changing forms that need to be decoded, mapped, and exposed.

The academic study of antisemitism, like prejudice more generally, has a long and impressive intellectual and research history.  It remains a topic of ongoing political importance and scholarly engagement.  However, unlike prejudice and discrimination directed at other social groups, antisemitism is almost always studied outside an organized academic framework.  ISGAP, founded in 2004 is the first interdisciplinary research center dedicated to the study of antisemitism based in North America.

The Institute’s mission is to explore this subject matter within a comprehensive, interdisciplinary framework from an array of approaches and perspectives as well as global, national and regional contexts.  This mission encompasses the study of such subjects as changing historical phases of antisemitism, how antisemitism relates to other forms of hatred, or to what extent it is unique, how some societies are able to resist antisemitism and how policies could be developed and utilized to combat it.

Eminent scholars and researchers will be invited regularly, to present seminar papers and engage in research projects at both conceptual and empirical levels. The development of an inter-disciplinary curriculum,  and encouraging the publication of analytical studies that examine a prejudice that remains widespread, recurrent, is a central objective.  ISGAP aims to create a vibrant space in which high caliber scholarship, discussion and debate can develop and be nurtured.